Bartleby vs Pearson MyLab
Side-by-side comparison of features, pricing, ratings, and alternatives.
Bartleby is an online homework help and study resource platform for students. It provides 24/7 access to expert tutors, step-by-step textbook solutions, Q&A, and writing tools such as grammar checking and paraphrasing. The service covers a wide range of subjects and includes a math solver, with subscription-based access.
MyLab provides digital learning experiences that complement Pearson textbooks, offering customizable assignments, instant feedback, and analytics for instructors. Students access adaptive practice, multimedia resources, and graded assessments through a web‑based interface. The platform integrates with learning management systems, tracks student progress, and supports a range of subjects from math and science to business and humanities. Institutions can configure content, set deadlines, and generate reports to improve learning outcomes.
No pricing information was found in the provided content.
- 24/7 access to expert tutors and homework help
- Step-by-step solutions for millions of textbooks
- Includes writing tools for grammar checking and paraphrasing
- Covers a wide range of subjects including STEM and business
- Deep integration with Pearson textbook content
- Robust analytics for instructors
- Automatic grading saves time
- Adaptive practice personalizes learning
- Subscription required for full access, with no refunds
- Response times can vary and may be longer for promotional offers or new subjects
- Questions are published publicly and must adhere to honor code
- Auto-renews monthly after trial, which may lead to unexpected charges
- Limited to Pearson‑published courses
- Subscription cost can be high for institutions
- Customization outside Pearson content is restricted
More alternatives & similar tools
Alternatives to Bartleby
View all →All-in-one study platform with flashcards, notes, and AI-generated practice exams
Alternatives to Pearson MyLab
View all →The Verdict
AI-generated from listing dataBartleby is a student‑focused tutoring and writing‑tool subscription, while Pearson MyLab is an instructor‑driven homework/assessment platform tied to Pearson textbooks.
Key differences
- •Target audience: individual students (Bartleby) vs. college instructors/institutions (MyLab).
- •Content scope: Bartleby covers 30+ STEM & business subjects with 10+ million textbook solutions; MyLab limited to Pearson‑published courses.
- •Integration: MyLab syncs with LMSs (Canvas, Blackboard, Moodle, Brightspace); Bartleby offers only a web/mobile app.
- •Pricing model: Bartleby $6.95 first week then $19.95/month per user; MyLab pricing not disclosed, typically institution‑level subscription.
- •Features: Bartleby provides on‑demand tutoring, math solver, grammar tools; MyLab provides auto‑graded assignments, adaptive practice, analytics.
Pricing & value
Bartleby lists concrete per‑user pricing ($19.95/mo) while MyLab’s cost is unspecified, likely higher for institutions.
Ease of use / learning curve
Bartleby is a straightforward web/mobile app for students; MyLab requires instructor setup and LMS integration.
Features & depth
MyLab offers auto‑grading, adaptive practice, detailed analytics, and LMS sync, which are deeper instructional features.
Integrations & ecosystem
MyLab integrates with major LMS platforms; Bartleby only provides its own app with no listed integrations.
Collaboration
Bartleby includes 24/7 expert Q&A and tutoring, enabling direct student‑tutor interaction; MyLab lacks real‑time collaboration.
Scalability
MyLab is designed for class‑wide deployment via cloud SaaS; Bartleby is per‑user subscription, less suited for large cohorts.
Support
MyLab lists email, live chat, and knowledge base support; Bartleby’s support details are not specified.
Choose Bartleby if…
Individual students needing on‑demand tutoring, writing help, and math solving.
Choose Pearson MyLab if…
Colleges/instructors seeking integrated homework, grading, and analytics within their LMS.
Common questions
What is the cost per student?
Bartleby charges $19.95 per month after a $6.95 first‑week trial; MyLab’s per‑student price is not disclosed.
Can the tool be used with my school’s LMS?
MyLab integrates with Canvas, Blackboard, Moodle, and Brightspace; Bartleby offers only its own web and mobile app.
Does the platform provide automatic grading and analytics?
MyLab provides auto‑graded assignments and detailed analytics; Bartleby offers tutoring and writing tools but no auto‑grading.