Betterment vs MAPLE
Side-by-side comparison of features, pricing, ratings, and alternatives.
Betterment is a registered investment adviser offering automated, goal-based investing in diversified ETF portfolios, alongside self-directed stock and ETF trading and cash management accounts. Its Digital plan builds and rebalances a portfolio automatically and applies tax-efficient strategies like tax-loss harvesting, while its Premium plan adds ongoing access to a team of licensed financial advisors for accounts with at least $100,000. Betterment also offers Cash Reserve, a high-yield cash account, and a checking account with no foreign transaction or ATM fees, both covered by expanded FDIC insurance through partner banks. The company also supports traditional, Roth, and SEP IRAs, Solo 401(k)s, and limited cryptocurrency exposure through ETFs, and is a member of FINRA and SIPC.
MAPLE is a next-gen AI-powered financial advisor that helps users achieve their financial goals through personalized advice, portfolio optimization, and comprehensive financial checkups.
- Low-cost automated investing with tax-loss harvesting built in on taxable accounts
- Clear path to human advisor access for larger balances without switching providers
- Combines investing, retirement, and cash management under one account
- FDIC-insured cash accounts with above-average coverage limits through partner bank network
- Personalized financial advice via AI
- Comprehensive financial checkup with X-Ray
- Tools for exposure review, risk assessment, cash optimization, debt analysis, and retirement readiness
- Privacy-focused: no ads, no calls, no selling data
- Premium advisor tier requires a $100,000 minimum, out of reach for many smaller investors
- Flat monthly fee for small balances can be a relatively high percentage cost until the balance grows
- Limited to Betterment's model portfolios and fund selection compared to a fully self-directed brokerage
- Pricing not clearly disclosed on the website
- Requires trusting AI with personal financial data
- May require detailed financial information to maximize value
More alternatives & similar tools
Alternatives to Betterment
View all →Automated investing, cash accounts, and self-directed stock trading in one platform.
Alternatives to MAPLE
View all →Automated investing and cash management with optional access to human financial advisors.
The Verdict
AI-generated from listing dataBetterment offers a proven, low‑cost robo‑advisor with optional human CFPs but requires a $100k premium tier; MAPLE provides AI‑driven advice with no disclosed pricing, focusing on privacy and broad financial checks.
Key differences
- •Betterment includes automated tax‑loss harvesting and FDIC‑insured cash accounts; MAPLE does not list such features.
- •Betterment’s premium human advisor access needs a $100k balance; MAPLE relies solely on AI with no human advisors.
- •Pricing is transparent (subscription) for Betterment but unknown for MAPLE.
- •Betterment supports retirement accounts (IRA, Roth, SEP, Solo 401k); MAPLE’s offering is limited to advice, no account types.
- •Betterment provides phone and in‑app chat support; MAPLE lists only app support and privacy/security details.
Pricing & value
Betterment has a known subscription model; MAPLE’s pricing is not disclosed, making cost assessment uncertain.
Ease of use / learning curve
MAPLE’s AI chat interface promises 24/7 guidance; Betterment requires navigating portfolio settings and advisor enrollment.
Features & depth
Betterment offers automated investing, tax‑loss harvesting, retirement accounts, and cash‑reserve products; MAPLE provides only advisory tools.
Integrations & ecosystem
Betterment integrates bank linking (ACH) and partner banks for cash accounts; MAPLE lists no integrations.
Support
Betterment offers help center, in‑app chat, phone, and advisor access; MAPLE mentions only app‑based support.
Security & privacy
MAPLE emphasizes SOC2 alignment, encryption, 2FA, and no data selling; Betterment’s security details are not specified.
Scalability / lock‑in
Betterment supports multiple account types (IRAs, 401k, cash) and can grow with assets; MAPLE is advisory only.
Choose Betterment if…
Investors seeking automated portfolio management, tax benefits, and optional human advisors, especially with retirement accounts.
Choose MAPLE if…
Users wanting AI‑only financial guidance, high privacy, and are comfortable without disclosed pricing or brokerage services.
Common questions
What is the cost to start using each platform?
Betterment charges a subscription fee (flat monthly); MAPLE’s pricing is not specified on the site.
Can I get human advisor help?
Betterment offers unlimited CFP access on its Premium tier (requires $100k balance); MAPLE provides only AI advice.
Does the platform support retirement accounts?
Betterment supports Traditional, Roth, SEP IRAs and Solo 401(k)s; MAPLE does not list any retirement account support.
