FindAlternative
Back to Kindle Paperwhite

Kindle Paperwhite vs Kobo Clara HD

Side-by-side comparison of features, pricing, ratings, and alternatives.

Compare
Kindle Paperwhite
Kindle PaperwhiteA waterproof e-reader with a glare-free, paper-like display.
Kobo Clara HD
Kobo Clara HDCompact 6‑inch eReader with 300 ppi glare‑free display and ComfortLight PRO
Overview
Description

The Kindle Paperwhite is Amazon's mid-tier e-reader, offering a 6.8-inch glare-free display, adjustable warm light for comfortable night reading, and IPX8 waterproof rating that lets it survive accidental drops in the bath or pool. Weeks of battery life on a single charge (versus hours on a typical tablet) comes from the e-ink display technology, which only draws power when the page changes, making it far more suited to long-form reading than a backlit LCD screen. Direct access to the Kindle Store, Amazon's library lending integration, and optional Kindle Unlimited subscription give readers access to millions of titles, while USB-C charging brings it in line with modern accessories.

The Kobo Clara HD delivers a crisp 6‑inch Carta E Ink display with 300 ppi resolution, making text look sharp and paper‑like. With 8 GB of internal storage you can carry thousands of eBooks and PDFs wherever you go. Its ComfortLight PRO front‑light reduces blue light for comfortable night reading, while a weeks‑long battery keeps you reading without frequent recharges.

Pricing
Paid (One-time)

Around $149.99 MSRP.

Paid (One-time)
Category
E-Readers
E-Readers
Best for
Avid readers
Avid readers and commuters
Specifications
Specifications
platforms
Kindle OS
deployment
Physical device
open source
No
api available
No
support options
Amazon Support
key integrations
Kindle Store, Goodreads
battery life
Weeks of typical reading (up to 30 days)
connectivity
Wi‑Fi 802.11 b/g/n
color options
Black, White
General
msrp
$129.99
Pros & Cons
Pros
  • Excellent glare-free reading experience
  • Long battery life measured in weeks
  • Waterproof for worry-free reading anywhere
  • Huge Kindle Store library
  • Sharp 300 ppi display
  • ComfortLight PRO reduces blue‑light
  • Weeks‑long battery life
  • 8 GB storage for thousands of books
Cons
  • Locked into the Amazon ecosystem for purchases
  • No color display
  • Kindle Unlimited is a separate subscription cost
  • No waterproof rating
  • No Bluetooth for audiobooks
  • Limited color options
Community & Metrics
Upvotes
4
0
User rating
4.0 (2)
Not enough data

What reviewers say

Kindle Paperwhite Reviews

4.0 (2)
Verified User

Does exactly what we need

Kindle Paperwhite has quickly become part of our daily routine. Waterproof for worry-free reading anywhere. One minor gripe: locked into the amazon ecosystem for purchases, but it hasn't been a dealbreaker. Would recommend.

Verified User

Highly recommend Kindle Paperwhite

Kindle Paperwhite has quickly become part of our daily routine. Long battery life measured in weeks. One minor gripe: kindle unlimited is a separate subscription cost, but it hasn't been a dealbreaker. Would recommend.

Read all reviews →

Kobo Clara HD Reviews

No reviews yet.

More alternatives & similar tools

Alternatives to Kindle Paperwhite

View all →
Barnes & Noble Nook Glowlight
Barnes & Noble Nook Glowlight

A dedicated e-reader featuring a built-in glare-free screen light for comfortable reading anywhere.

Compare
Kobo Libra Colour
Kobo Libra Colour

Colour E Ink e-reader with stylus support and physical page-turn buttons

Compare
Kobo Clara HD
Kobo Clara HD

Compact 6‑inch eReader with 300 ppi glare‑free display and ComfortLight PRO

Compare
reMarkable Paper Pro
reMarkable Paper Pro

A colour e-paper tablet for handwriting and document markup

Compare

Alternatives to Kobo Clara HD

View all →
Kindle Paperwhite
Kindle Paperwhite

A waterproof e-reader with a glare-free, paper-like display.

Compare
Barnes & Noble Nook Glowlight
Barnes & Noble Nook Glowlight

A dedicated e-reader featuring a built-in glare-free screen light for comfortable reading anywhere.

Compare
Kobo Libra Colour
Kobo Libra Colour

Colour E Ink e-reader with stylus support and physical page-turn buttons

Compare

The Verdict

AI-generated from listing data

The Kindle Paperwhite offers waterproof durability and a larger screen at a higher price, while the Kobo Clara HD provides a sharper display, broader format support, and lower cost but lacks water resistance.

Key differences

  • Kindle is waterproof (IPX8); Kobo has no water resistance.
  • Kobo’s 6‑inch screen is 300 ppi; Kindle’s ppi not specified (larger 6.8″ screen).
  • Kindle ties you to Amazon’s ecosystem; Kobo supports many formats (EPUB, PDF, MOBI, CBZ).
  • Price: Kindle around $149.99 MSRP; Kobo $129.99.
  • Storage: Kobo 8 GB (≈6,000 books); Kindle storage not specified.
DimensionWinner

Pricing & value

Kobo Clara HD costs $129.99 versus Kindle Paperwhite’s $149.99, offering lower upfront cost.

Kobo Clara HD

Battery life

Kobo advertises up to 30 days of reading; Kindle only states “weeks,” less specific.

Kobo Clara HD

Ecosystem & compatibility

Kobo supports EPUB, PDF, MOBI, CBZ and other formats; Kindle is locked to Amazon’s store.

Kobo Clara HD

Comfort & design

Both have glare‑free e‑ink displays, front lighting (adjustable warm on Kindle, ComfortLight PRO on Kobo) and ergonomic designs.

Tie

Durability

Kindle Paperwhite has IPX8 waterproof rating; Kobo Clara HD has no waterproof rating.

Kindle Paperwhite

Display quality

Kobo specifies 300 ppi on a 6‑inch screen; Kindle’s ppi isn’t provided, making Kobo’s claim clearer.

Kobo Clara HD

Choose Kindle Paperwhite if…

Readers who need waterproof protection and prefer Amazon’s store.

Choose Kobo Clara HD if…

Readers who want a sharper screen, broader file support, and lower price.

Common questions

Is the Kindle Paperwhite waterproof?

Yes, it has an IPX8 rating for bath or pool reading.

Can I read EPUB files on the Kindle Paperwhite?

No, Kindle is locked to Amazon formats; Kobo Clara HD supports EPUB.

Which device offers longer battery life?

Kobo Clara HD advertises up to 30 days of typical reading, slightly longer than Kindle’s “weeks.”